As you wrap up this 2016-17 school year, we have a few suggested practices that will help ease the transition into next school year.
1) Cleaning up quizzes
2) Revising course outlines
3) Uploading files into My Community
4) Deactivating students
5) Removing Assignments
1) Cleaning up quizzes- You may wish to deactivate quizzes from previous years. Click "Activate/Deactivate Quizzes" under the MY QUIZZES tab. After clicking the link, the page displayed will list all of the quizzes that you have created. From this screen you can quickly change the status to either “Active” or “Inactive” for as many quizzes as you need to. No data is deleted in this option.
If you want to remove a quiz and it's data permanently, you can delete quizzes. To delete a quiz, find the "Delete Quiz" option underneath "My Quizzes." When you click the link, a list of the tests you have created will be displayed. Click on the name of the quiz you want to delete. A question box will appear asking you if you are sure you want to delete the quiz. Clicking on OK will delete the quiz from your profile. When you delete a quiz, all previous student results from the quiz will also be deleted from your profile.
2) Revising course outlines - You may want to revise a course outline for next school year. You can do so by selecting the desired course under "My Courses". On the next page you can reorder the lessons in the course. See one of our previous blogs on revising course outlines. If you are wanting to add lessons to a course outline, see our previous blog on adding to a course outline.
3) Uploading files into My Community- With more time available in the summer, consider organizing your course materials using MyCommunity. Your favorite activities can be aligned with lesson plans, and other teachers can benefit from your additions. See our previous blog on My Community to learn more.
4) Deactivating students - When students graduate, it is important to keep their records for 5 years. Our system allows you to move students to "Inactive" , which will keep their records, but will remove them from their respective course rosters. To deactivate students, select "Edit Students" under "My Students". Next to each student who has graduated, select the Inactive bubble. Click "Submit".
5) Removing Assignments- If you reuse assignments each year, this is one of the most important practices for you. Under "My Students", select "Maintain Assigned E-units/PPTs". On the following screen, select maintaining E-Units or PowerPoints. The process is the same for each. Next, select a course in the box provided. Finally, remove the assign and due dates and click "Save Updated Status to Assigned/E-Units or PowerPoints".
If you are making personell changes this summer, please keep us informed. We want to ensure the new instructor is well-informed with MYcaert.com, and how it will ease their transition in the classroom.
Complete our transition survey here: https://goo.gl/W9hTVV